• Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • bilder
  • video
  • Map
  • The joy of autumn

    Falkenstein castle near Obervellach

    Falkenstein towers over the Möll valley near Obervellach as a picturesque "fairy-tale castle". Slightly higher up, Oberfalkenstein castle is now a ruin. From Obervellach, as well as from the village of Gratschach, there are undemanding hiking trails to both castles.

    Formerly a fortified outpost, Oberfalkenstein castle was first mentioned in the documents in 1307, as "daz nidre Valchenstayn". Subsequently the complex was given in grant as a separate fief, making it a stand-alone property.

    After changing hands on numerous occasions, in 1693 Falkenstein castle came into the possession of Freiherr Wenzel von Sternbach, and his family retained ownership of it until 1883. The lordship of Falkenstein was finally dissolved as late as 1848. In 1905 Hofrat Ferdinand Kaltenegger von Riehorst acquired Falkenstein castle and it was he who gave it its present appearance. He had the tower - which had already been a ruin by the 17th century - renovated in the style of the 16th century. His plan was to give Emperor Franz Josef I a spectacular surprise on the occasion of the opening of the Tauern Railway on 5th July 1909.

    In 1968 part of the castle was destroyed by fire. However, the mighty tower of Unterfalkenstein was restored to its previous condition in the Romanesque style.
    Unterfalkenstein was also protected by a defensive wall and a drawbridge. However, after the fire the drawbridge was replaced by a formidable door.

    Contact

    Family Fersterer
    Pfaffenberg
    A- 9821 Obervellach, Austria
    Tel.: +43(664)5724448
    Tel.: +43(664)4878747

    E-Mail: hinterhag@aon.at


    By visiting this site, you agree to our use of cookies.
    This helps us to further improve services for you.

• Frühling
  • Sommer
  • Herbst
  • Winter
  • bilder
  • video
  • Karte
  • Winterlust

    Burg Falkenstein bei Obervellach

    Als malerisches "Märchenschloss" überragt die Burg Falkenstein das Mölltal bei Obervellach. Die etwas höher gelegene Burg Oberfalkenstein ist heute eine Ruine. Von Obervellach sowie der Ortschaft Gratschach führen unschwierige Wanderwege zu den beiden Burgen.

    Als ehemaliges Vorwerk der Burg Oberfalkenstein wurde im 1307 "daz nidre Valchenstayn" erstmals urkundlich erwähnt. Danach wurde die Anlage als eigenes Lehen und damit als selbstständiger Besitz vergeben.

    Nach wechselnden Besitzern kam Falkenstein dann 1693 an den Freiherrn Wenzel von Sternbach, in dessen Familie der Besitz bis 1883 verblieb. Endgültig aufgelöst wurde die Herrschaft Falkenstein erst im Jahre 1848. 1905 erwarb die Burg Falkenstein Hofrat Ferdinand Kaltenegger von Riehorst, welcher der Burg ihr gegenwärtiges Aussehen gab. Er ließ den Turm, welcher bereits im 17. Jh. eine Ruine war, im Stile des 16. Jhs. revitalisieren, um Kaiser Franz Josef I. bei der Eröffnung der Tauernbahn am 5. Juli 1909 eine besondere Überraschung zu bereiten.

    1968 wurde ein Teil der Burg durch einen Brand zerstört. Der mächtige Turm von Unterfalkenstein wurde wieder im bisherigen, romanischen Stil aufgebaut.
    Auch Unterfalkenstein war durch eine Wehrmauer und eine Zugbrücke abgesichert. Nach dem Brand wurde jedoch an Stelle der Zugbrücke ein mächtiges Tor eingesetzt.

    Kontakt

    Familie Fersterer
    Pfaffenberg
    9821 Obervellach

    Tel.: +43(0)664/5724448
    Tel.: +43(0)664/4878747

    E-Mail: hinterhag@aon.at


    Mit dem Besuch dieser Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu.
    Dies hilft uns den Service für Sie weiter zu verbessern.